Researchers Receive Awards at Dallas Meeting

2019 Awards

Awards were presented on May 4 to the following researchers at the 20th Annual Meeting of The American Society of Breast Surgeons for their outstanding Scientific Session presentations. To view all scientific session abstracts, download this year's Official Proceedings (pdf).

George N. Peters Award

Best Presentation by a Fellow

Susie Sun, MDPatient selection for non-operative management of HER2+ invasive breast cancer after neoadjuvant systemic therapy

Dr. Sun is a breast surgery fellow at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Institute, Houston, TX. Her coauthors are Raquel van la Parra, Gaiane Rauch, Cristina Checka, Audree Tradros, Anthony Lucci, Mediget Teshome, Dalliah Black, Rosa Hwang, Benjamin Smith, Savitri Krishnamurthy, Vicente Valero, Wei Yang, and Henry Kuerer.

Dr. Sun also won the Scientific Impact Award. This award is deemed by the audience as the presentation having the greatest scientific impact.

Scientific Presentation Award

Best Presentation by a Fellow, Resident, or Medical Trainee

Olga Kantor, MDPhysician Knowledge of Contralateral Breast Cancer and Local Recurrence Risk Is Associated with Increased Recommendations for Contralateral Prophylactic Mastectomy: A Survey of Physicians at NAPBC Accredited Centers

Dr. Kantor is a resident at the University of Chicago. Her coauthors are Richard Bleicher, Cecilia Chang, Meena Singh, Meena Moran, Scott Kurtzman, David Winchester, Katharine Yao.

View News Archive